Fresno County Public Library Kids Catalog Resources Homework Center Virtual Programs Games

Saturday, June 10, 2023

Wings of Fire Read-a-Likes

Are you a fan of the Wings of Fire series and looking for more books with similar themes and styles? Look no further! Here are some terrific book series that you might enjoy if you love the world of dragons, adventure, and danger.  

These book series are great options for readers who enjoyed Wings of Fire and want more books with similar themes and styles.

Warriors by Erin Hunter
A popular book series that follows the adventures of various clans of cats. There are several spin-off series, including Seekers, which follows a group of bears as they embark on a quest to find a new home. Several books in the series are written by Wings of Fire author Tui T. Sutherland using the pseudonym Erin Hunter. Like Wings of Fire, these books feature animals as main characters and have a strong emphasis on adventure, friendship, and loyalty. Children in fourth grade and older will enjoy this series.

Land of Stories by Chris Colfer
The Land of Stories series follows twins Alex and Conner as they travel to a magical world of fairy tales. The books have a similar sense of adventure and danger as Wings of Fire, and they also explore themes such as friendship, family, and self-discovery. Author Chris Colfer was born and raised in Clovis. Children in fourth grade and older will also enjoy this series.

Redwall by Brian Jacques
The Redwall series is a classic book series that follows the adventures of various woodland animals, including mice, otters, and badgers. The books are set in a medieval world full of danger and adventure, and they explore themes such as courage, loyalty, and friendship. Like Wings of Fire, the Redwall series has a richly imagined world full of well-developed characters. Ideal for grades fifth and up.

Fablehaven by Brandon Mull
The Fablehaven series follows siblings Kendra and Seth as they discover the secrets of their grandparents' mysterious estate, Fablehaven. The estate is home to mystical creatures and dangerous beings that are kept in check by a set of strict rules. Fablehaven has a richly imagined world full of magic, adventure, and danger. Ideal for grades fourth and up.

Guardians of Ga'Hoole by Kathryn Lasky
The Guardians of Ga'Hoole series follows a young barn owl named Soren who is kidnapped and taken to St. Aegolius Academy for Orphaned Owls. There, he uncovers a sinister plot to take over the owl kingdoms and embarks on a quest to save his family and friends. Like Wings of Fire, Guardians of Ga'Hoole has a strong theme of good versus evil and features well-developed animal characters. Fourth grade and up.

Watership Down by Richard Adams
Watership Down tells the story of a group of rabbits as they search for a new home after their warren is destroyed. The rabbits face many challenges and dangers as they navigate unfamiliar terrain and meet other rabbit colonies with their own unique customs and beliefs. Watership Down has a richly imagined world with well-developed characters and a strong emphasis on the bonds of friendship and family. Sixth grade and up for those looking for an anthropomorphic fantasy tale with more mature themes.