HTML/JavaScript

Fresno County Public Library Babies 0-3 Kids Blog Teen Blog Homework Center Online Games for Kids Parents

Wednesday, July 8, 2020

Win it Wednesday: Kid Activists

Every Wednesday we will give away a new book. For a chance to win, just fill out the form at the bottom of the page and you'll be entered into a drawing. The drawing will run from Wednesday through 11:59 PM Friday and winners will be announced on Mondays. (Note: you must be a Fresno County resident to be eligible for Win it Wednesdays.)

Kid activists: True Tales of Childhood from Champions of Change by Robin Stevenson

Every activist started out as a kid—and in some cases they were kids when their activism began! But even the world’s greatest champions of civil liberties had relatable interests and problems--often in the middle of extraordinary circumstances. Martin Luther King, Jr. loved fashion, and argued with his dad about whether or not dancing was a sin. Harvey Milk had a passion for listening to opera music in different languages. Dolores Huerta was once wrongly accused of plagiarizing in school.  Kid Activists tells these childhood stories and more through kid-friendly texts and full-color cartoon illustrations on nearly every page.

The diverse and inclusive group encompasses Susan B. Anthony, James Baldwin, Ruby Bridges, Frederick Douglass, Alexander Hamilton, Dolores Huerta, Helen Keller, Martin Luther King Jr., Nelson Mandela, Iqbal Masih, Harvey Milk, Janet Mock, Rosa Parks, Autumn Peltier, Emma Watson, and Malala Yousafzai.

Fill out this form for a chance to win our next Win it Wednesday!

Wednesday, July 1, 2020

Win it Wednesday: A is For Audra

Every Wednesday we will give away a new book. For a chance to win, just fill out the form at the bottom of the page and you'll be entered into a drawing. The drawing will run from Wednesday through 11:59 PM Friday and winners will be announced on Mondays. (Note: you must be a Fresno County resident to be eligible for Win it Wednesdays.)

A is for Audra by John Robert Allman

From Audra McDonald to Liza with a "Z," here is a showstopping alphabet book featuring your favorite leading ladies of the Broadway stage!

Step into the spotlight and celebrate a cavalcade of Broadway's legendary ladies. Start with "A" for six-time Tony Award winner Audra McDonald, then sing and dance your way through the alphabet with beloved entertainers like Patti LuPone, Bernadette Peters, Chita Rivera, Lea Salonga, Kristin Chenoweth, Kelli O'Hara, and Liza Minnelli!

Broadway fans and theater lovers everywhere will give a standing ovation to this one-of-a-kind tribute full of toe-tapping rhymes, with illustrations as bright and beautiful as the shining lights on any marquee.

Congratulations, Veronica A., you have won our latest Win it Wednesday!

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Win it Wednesday: Rocket Says Look Up!

Every Wednesday we will give away a new book. For a chance to win, just fill out the form at the bottom of the page and you'll be entered into a drawing. The drawing will run from Wednesday through 11:59 PM Friday and winners will be announced on Mondays. (Note: you must be a Fresno County resident to be eligible for Win it Wednesdays.)

Win it Wednesday: Rocket Says Look Up! by Nathan Bryon

Meet Rocket--a plucky aspiring astronaut intent on getting her community to LOOK UP! from what they're doing and reach for the stars in this auspicious debut picture book. Honored as a Chicago Public Library 2019 Best of the Best Book!

A comet will be visible tonight, and Rocket wants everyone to see it with her--even her big brother, Jamal, whose attention is usually trained on his phone or video games. Rocket's enthusiasm brings neighbors and family together to witness a once-in-a-lifetime sighting. Perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Cece Loves Science--Rocket Says Look Up! will inspire readers of all ages to dream big as it models Rocket's passion for science and infectious curiosity.

Congratulations Heaven M., you have won the latest Win it Wednesday!

The book will be delivered to the branch of your choice and available for pickup when we re-open. Stay tuned!

Wednesday, April 15, 2020

Win it Wednesday: Two Girls, a Clock, and a Crooked House

Every Wednesday we will give away a new book. For a chance to win, just fill out the form at the bottom of the page and you'll be entered into a drawing. The drawing will run from Wednesday through 11:59 PM Friday and winners will be announced on Mondays. (Note: you must be a Fresno County resident to be eligible for Win it Wednesdays.)

Win it Wednesday: Two Girls, a Clock, and a Crooked House by Michael Poore

This is a story of things that are not possible.
It's not possible for Amy to see spirits. (She does.)
It's not possible that Amy and Moo can communicate using only their minds. (They do.)
It's not possible to time-travel. (Yet.)
And it's definitely not possible that witches exist. (Seriously?)
None of these things are possible. (Until now....)

After Amy is struck by lightning, she and her silent friend, Moo, are able to communicate telepathically, travel through time, and face a child-eating witch.

Congratulations Piper M.! You are our latest Win it Wednesday winner.

The book will be delivered to the branch of your choice and available for pickup when we re-open. Stay tuned!